The Department of Energy and Water Supply and the Department of Natural Resources and Mines have been combined to create the new Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy.

We will continue to update this website while we work on our new website.

Department of Natural Resources, Mines and Energy

Customer service standards

Customer service standards describe how a provider will deliver water and sewerage services. They address activities such as:

  • billing
  • continuity of services
  • complaint management.

Customer service standards are developed in consultation with customers and act to protect customers who do not have an individual contract with their service provider.

Service providers are required to develop, and publish on their website, customer service standards that set target levels of service for key performance indicators (KPIs). Newly registered service providers must prepare a customer service standard within six months of registration.

The standards must be reviewed every 5 years.

What's included

Service providers must set target levels of service for the following:

  • total water main breaks
  • total sewerage main breaks and chokes
  • incidence of unplanned interruptions
  • water quality complaints
  • total water and sewerage complaints
  • average response time for incidents.

These KPIs are each specifically listed in a reporting requirement notice issued to service providers.

Customer service standards must also include details about how the service provider will interact with customers, the process for service connections, billing, metering, accounting, customer consultation, complaints and dispute resolution.


Service providers who meet these criteria may be exempt from preparing customer service standards:

How do I get a copy?

Contact your local service provider to obtain a copy of the customer service standards. If you have any concerns, phone 13 QGOV (13 74 68).

Last updated:
24 January 2018
Was this page useful?