Search the site

Category 1 water authorities

Queensland's Category 1 water authorities are overseen by the Department of Energy and Water Supply to ensure they comply with their statutory responsibilities.

At present there are two category 1 water authorities in Queensland: the Gladstone Area Water Board and the Mount Isa Water Board. Category 2 water authorities are overseen by DNRM.

Gladstone Area Water Board

The Gladstone Area Water Board (GAWB) provides both treated and untreated water for domestic and industrial purposes (e.g. the Gladstone Regional Council and large industrial operations, including the Callide Power Station near Biloela and Curtis Island CSG proponents).

Mount Isa Water Board

The Mount Isa Water Board (MIWB) supplies water in bulk to Mount Isa City Council and industrial consumers including Glencore Mount Isa Mines.

Last updated
17 January 2014