Search the site

Far North Queensland regional water supply strategy

The Far North Queensland Regional Water Supply Strategy (PDF, 4.3MB) was released in March 2010. This followed an extensive consultation process.

The strategy complements existing water resource and operation plans for the Barron and Mitchell basins.

Strategy area

The strategy area (PDF, 508.5KB) of approximately 10,000 km2 includes the major urban centers of Cairns, Mareeba, Atherton and Port Douglas. This incorporates the following eight catchments:

  • Daintree River
  • Mossman River
  • Upper Mitchell subcatchment
  • Walsh subcatchment
  • Upper Herbert subcatchment
  • North Johnstone subcatchment
  • Barron River
  • Mulgrave River.

Find out more 

For further information about the strategy and its supporting documents, please contact:

Strategies Coordinator
Department of Energy and Water Supply
PO Box 15456
City East Qld 4002

Ph: 13 QGOV (13 74 68)

Last updated
23 August 2013